a r a j a n e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

overdue // 2002-12-03

i clocked myself finishing the half marathon at 2:30:27, which is just what my goal was--to finish in two and a half hours. yay for me! but the "official timing system" seems to think that my time was 2:32:07. whatever. i'm sure my stop watch was much more accurate than their so-called "official timing system".

until the last mile i was doing great. when i hit mile 12, i thought, "just pretend you're starting your run now. this is easy. you can run one mile." but somewhere along the way i got completely delirious and forgot where i was, so much that when i crossed the finish line and heard my name announced i thought, "how the hell did i get here?" but c was there to see me, and my parents were there, too, with flowers and apple pie (mom's apple pie!). it was lovely and made me remember why it's fun to do these races.

but now i'm hurty all over. my left foot is all screwed up, my knees and hips hurt (probably my IT band), my back is achy, my quads are a mess... but i think it was worth it.

so yesterday i took the day off work to recover and had a marvelous time with c doing the following:

  • had breakfast at green cat
  • went to the new balance store to get new shoes for c
  • tried on tennis skirts at the adidas store (so cute!) and wished it was spring so we could resume our seattle tennis tour
  • saw 8 mile (surprisingly good)
  • bought the new maakies book at zanadu
  • went to shorty's and ate a veggie chili cheese dog, drank a fat tire, and played ms. pacman (which, by the way, totally sucked, since shorty's replaced the old machine with a new-fangled one that's a combo ms. pacman/galaga and now costs 50 cents instead of a quarter (50 cents--what an outrage!!), and the joystick is all stiff and wrong so i played horribly and the monsters were set to change super fast so i could hardly eat any of them and i scored a lousy 32,000 or so, which, if know me, is totally unheard of)
  • went back to c's where i read out loud an article about bobby fischer from the atlantic and he fell asleep curled up next to me
it was a good day yesterday.

this morning on the bus a little girl sat next to me and fell asleep on my shoulder while she wheezed in a way that can only suggest bad things. and when i walked into work a gentleman who i do not know looked at me and said, "i like your sense of style!", which was a very nice way to begin a very bad return to work.

before // after

new
old
profile
email
guestbook
diaryland
tennis
postcards
movies
flickr
audioscrobbler
43 things
www.flickr.com