a r a j a n e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

summary // 2004-08-10

jesus, where have i been? a rundown...

  • july 24: my birthday. i turned 30! c gave me two fucking awesome games--settlers of catan and lost cities. we've been playing lost cities like fiends but we need a third or fourth to play settlers. amar, come up to seattle to play with us! my party was great. so many wonderful friends, plus my parents came and i met the lovely kayemess and her AH, and hope to see them again soon.
  • july 25: croquet in the park!
  • july 26: school. i don't know why, but even just one day a week of school this summer still brings me down. i'm trying to branch out and make new friends, but still, so much trivial catty stuff when i really just want to learn. my old pal wil was in town from SF, so i went down to the alibi room to drink with him and his pal sc0tt. i dunno, wil was too drunk by the time i got there and i'm not really my old drinking self. at least, not enough to truly appreciate the evening.
  • july 27 to august 3: i have no idea what i did, to be honest. probably go see a lot of movies and loaf. or maybe i did some work. i do recall one day where c and i hopped around several coffee shops while i worked using free wi-fi and he read. fun!
  • august 4 to august 8: i got a last minute invitation from my mum to go to ashland with her and a big group of her friends to see many, many plays at the oregon shakespeare festival. my stepfather decided at the last minute that he didn't really want to go (even though they'd been planning this trip for a year), so i got a free flight down there, not to mention free theater tickets (seven shows, front row center) and a free stay at an awesome B&B. however, my mom brought an ugly cold with her that i inevitably caught since i had to sleep in the same bed as her. i'm still blowing the most nasty, viscous snot imaginable out of my nose. but i got to see my old acupuncturist, who moved down to ashland a couple of years ago, and we chatted non-stop about acupuncture for a long time over dinner with his wife and my mum (who are good friends). and he invited me down there to do an internship with him at some point, which is so dreamy i can't stand it. on the flight back i actually forwent the lorazepam so i would be conscious enough to work on my school project when i got home (which, incidentally, i was up until 2 am completing because i didn't have the foresight to plan it further in advance).
  • august 9: back to school. i presented my project that i slaved over for my five element class. i sewed together small handmade paper boxes representative of each of the elements, lined in felt and secured with buttons and ribbon. very pretty, but it made me very exhausted.
  • today: i had an appointment with my optometrist on bainbridge this morning, so i ferried over there early, got to look at a picture of my optic nerve and had my eyes dilated, somehow lost one of my contacts after leaving the appointment, and walked around completely disoriented what with the wonky vision and hugely dilated pupils. i walked through downtown seattle on my way home and ended up buying an orla kiely bag because it was on sale, which is stupid because i have no money and don't even need a new bag. i'm just a fucking sucker for anything orla kiely. and then i bought a sweater at banana republic because it was on sale. but it was $15! how can you not buy a sweater for $15? i can't, that's for sure.
and that's it.

before // after

new
old
profile
email
guestbook
diaryland
tennis
postcards
movies
flickr
audioscrobbler
43 things
www.flickr.com